State Highway Patrol Trooper named North Dakota Peace Office of the Year

SDHP Peace Officer of the Year

A state trooper stationed in Hillsboro, N.D., has been named the North Dakota Peace Officer of the Year. State Highway Patrol Trooper Kyle Stern recently received the award during the North Dakota Peace Officers Association's annual meeting in Minot. The honor is given each year to a law enforcement officer who has "outstanding service, professional dignity" and has made "unselfish personal contributions to the citizens of North Dakota," according to a news release. The award "serves as recognition of an officer who consistently displays excellence within their profession," the release said. Stern has been with the Highway Patrol since 2002 and received several accolades over the years, including the North Dakota Trooper of the Year in 2010. The Peace Officers Association said Stern is dedicated to providing public safety on state roads, according to the release. "Trooper Stern's professionalism, extensive knowledge and servant attitude in representing not only the NDHP, but law enforcement in general, is a tribute to his dedication to law enforcement and the people of this state," Highway Patrol Sgt. Ryan Panasuk said in a letter nominating Stern for the award.