Ohio State Patrol's 2016 Trooper of the Year

OHP 2016 Trooper of the Year

State Sen. Gayle Manning, a North Ridgeville Republican, honored Ohio State Highway Patrol Trooper Juan “Ray” Santiago of the Elyria Post during a recent visit to Columbus, according to a June 15 news release from her office.  Santiago was named the 2016 Ohio State Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year, according to the release.  “I am pleased to honor Trooper Santiago for his commitment to our community and the state of Ohio,” Manning said.  “Ohians should take comfort in knowing that Ohio’s Highway Patrol has some of the best-trained and most dedicated public servants in the country.  “Thank you to Trooper Santiago and those who join him in an effort to keep our Ohio families safe.”  A resident of Lorain, Santiago joined the Highway Patrol in 2010, and was honored along with nine other District Troopers across the state, the release said.  Santiago’s wife, Mallory, joined him when he was honored by Manning.